Review: Ballymeade Country Club

Course Name: Ballymeade Country Club

Designer: Jim Fazio/Chi Chi Rodriguez (1989)

Location: East Falmouth, Massachusetts

History: Designed in 1989 by the duo of Jim Fazio and Chi Chi Rodriguez, Ballymeade closed in 2015. In 2016, a new course The Cape Club opened on the property as a completely new design.

Conditions: 7/10, I distinctly recall some dry, rocky patches in the fairways but also recall beautifully conditioned fast greens.

Value: N/A, I forgot what I paid and the course is now closed anyway.

Scorecard:

Tee                     Par         Yardage         Rating          Slope

Green                72           6928               74.7              140

Blue                   72           6401               71.9               135

White                72           6055               70.6              131

Red                    72           4871               70.9              127

Best Score: Did not finish the round due to horrible play, 7/18/2010 with Dan M.

Front 9 Best: Unknown but it was well above 50, 7/18/2010 with Dan M.

Back 9 Best: Did not finish the round due to horrible play, 7/18/2010 with Dan M.

Hole Highlights: Almost immediately, you are put to the test on the first tee, a sharp dogleg right with severe slope along the entire hole. Hole 3 is a short par 5, but the danger down the right side persists up until a tiny green. I recall losing several balls on this hole. The fourth hole compliments the first as a sharp dogleg left. The landing area requires a carry over a pond to a narrow fairway. After that, my memory of this course becomes fuzzy – possibly because I picked up on half the holes and possibly because all the holes seemed the same. I do remember, however, both hole 9 and 18 finishing with an approach shot over a small pond. After this round finished, Dan and I agreed to never speak of our unspeakable performance on this course. Despite this, Ballymeade had a lasting impact on me as a golfer; in only my second summer playing, it instilled in me a fear of elevation on golf courses, a fear that to this day has persisted a bit. It also encouraged me to change my extremely strong right hand grip in favor of a weaker, more consistent one. For that, I thank Ballymeade.

General Comments: From what I remember, the range, putting greens, and clubhouse were very nice and expansive. Pace of play was also extremely quick. This course was extremely challenging due to its tightness and elevation changes. It’s not surprising a 6000 yard par 72 has a 131 slope from the White Tees.

Verdict: Since this course is now closed, I feel a recommendation is superfluous.

IMG_0037
Dan tries to blow his way in on the last green
Leave a Reply

